Recertification by Continuing Education Units (CEUs) For Certified Applicators
The regulation of pesticide use comes under the authority of the Pest Management Section of the Consumer Protection Services, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food & Forestry. There are three laws that regulate pesticides in the state of Oklahoma. The laws are 1) the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA), 2) the Oklahoma Pesticide Law, and 3) the Oklahoma Pesticide Applicator Law.
Who administers the program? The Oklahoma Pesticide Applicator Law grants the Oklahoma Board of Agriculture the authority to issue licenses to pesticide applicator companies and certified pesticide applicators.
How does a person become a certified applicator? Applicator certification requires the successful completion of at least two examinations: the core exam and the category exam. A few of the categories require completion of a practical exam in conjunction with the core and category exams for certification in that particular category.
Core Exam-All persons wishing to become certified as a commercial or noncommercial applicator must pass this exam in addition to the category exam.
- Category exam-Written exam to be taken (along with the core exam) by those wishing to become certified in that particular category.
After all the necessary examinations have been successfully completed, the certified applicator will be issued a certification card. This certification card is not a license to do pesticide applicator work; a pesticide applicator license must be obtained by any company (even if the company consists only of one certified applicator) wishing to do commercial, noncommercial, or consultant pesticide work.
How long is the certification good for? Each category recertifies on a five (5) year schedule - not based on the date the individual was certified. This means all certified applicators in any given category are on the same five (5) year schedule, e.g. 2007 through 2012, 2008 through 2013, etc. For example, an individual who initially certifies in Ag Plant in 2010 will need to recertify in 2013, because that's the year the category recertifies.
How can a certified applicator recertify? Recertification for certified applicators is possible through two channels: a) Applicator takes the written test for each category of his/her certification; b) Applicator collects enough Continuing Education Units (CEUs) to recertify in a category.
The fee to recertify, regardless of the method of recertification, is $50.00.
For information concerning CEU meetings, and to be placed on a mailing list to receive promotional notices of meetings awarding CEUs, contact the Pesticide Coordinator at Oklahoma State University:
Oklahoma State University
127 Noble Research Center
Stillwater, OK 74078-0285
Telephone: (405) 744-5531
When meetings are approved for CEUs, we post them on our website: CEU meeting schedule
For information concerning recertification periods, CEU accrual and to submit programs for CEU assignment, contact:
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food & Forestry
Consumer Protection Services
2800 N. Lincoln Blvd.
PO Box 528804
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804
Telephone: (405) 522-5993
Example: An individual certifies or recertifies in 2008 in the Ag Plant category. That individual would have 5 years between the year he passed the test and the year the category recertifies. Therefore, that individual would need 20 CEUs spread out over at least three of the five years. (CEUs must be accumulated during at least half of the calendar years in the applicator's current cycle---in this case those years are 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013).
Example II: An individual certifies in 2009 in the Ag Plant category. That individual would have 4 years (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013) between the year he passed the test and the year the category recertifies. Therefore, that individual would need 16 CEUs split up between at least two of the four years.
Note: When calculating the number of CEUs required for recertification, do not count the year the applicator most recently became certified or recertified. CEUs accrued during the year of certification do not count toward recertification.
How are the number of CEUs and the categories determined to be awarded for participation in educational events? When a meeting is submitted for CEU evaluation, the Program Administrator in charge of certification reviews it and sends a copy to the Pesticide Coordinator, County Extension Service, for his review. The program is evaluated on topics, speakers and their qualifications, and approaches to be used to verify attendance and/or evaluate the progress of participants.
Procedures for earning credits in other states when a reciprocal agreement is in effect: Applicators certified in both reciprocating states, and who successfully complete a recertification course preaccredited by either of the reciprocating states, may request that proof of completion be provided to the other state. Credits earned in preaccredited courses may be recognized by the reciprocating states to the extent that such credits meet the recertification requirements of the particular state.
When an applicator attends a meeting he/she is usually asked to sign an attendance sheet. To make sure your CEUs are properly credited, do the following:
- PRINT your name clearly.
- Use both your certification number and your driver's license number. This allows the Division to credit you properly.
- Keep a record of all meetings attended, noting the date, the place, and the number of CEUs.