Licensing and Fee Information

Lisnbar.gif (5606 bytes)


Oklahoma Cosmetology Testing Center
2401 NW 23rd, Door 62
Oklahoma City, OK   73107

Fee
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Examination Application and Fee - $15.00

Hours of Operation
Examinations are administered daily from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday or as deemed necessary.

General Cosmetology Licensing Qualifications
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Completion of 3000 hours in an approved apprentice program
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Completion of an approved course of study in a licensed school of this state
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Completion of study in another state or country that is equivalent to the study and training required in this state (or practiced their trade for a period of time equivalent to the study/training of a qualified person who has completed a course of study from an approved school in Oklahoma).

License Renewal Information
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Renewal fees are payable by cashier's check or money order.
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    The term of your license is one year - renewable on the last day of your birthday month, annually.
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    The renewal fee applies (see information below about your specific renewal fee).
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    A renewal application form (that is sent to you each year and is attached to yoru license) is due. If you do not have this form, add an additional $5 to the applicable fees. Include a note requesting renewal of your license with your money order or cashier's check that includes your name, mailing address, file number (if this information is available to you) and your social security number.
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    If your license has expired over two months, include a $10.00 late fee. We will refer to the postmark date on your envelope to determine if the late fee is applicable.

If you need specific information regarding renewal of your license, please contact us at the Board at 405-521-2441.

Apprentice Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has submitted evidence of need and been approved by the Board
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Apprentice is required by law to obtain training under a licensed Oklahoma Cosmetology Instructor
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Training to be conducted in an approved licensed establishment (salon).
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Complete 3000 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has completed at least the eighth grade

Term of License
One year - renewable by the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Cosmetology License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Completion of 1500 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Has completed at least the eighth grade

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually.

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Exam fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Cosmetician License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Complete 600 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Demonstrator License Requirements
A person who is not licensed in the state as a Cosmetologist or Instructor and who demonstrates any cosmetic preparation is declared to be a Demonstrator and shall be required to obtain a license from the Board before making any such demonstrations.  Demonstrators do not charge for their services.

Term of License
One year - renewable each year on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)
   Application/Initial Fee - $20.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)
   License Renewal - $20.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)
   Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00

Esthetician/Facialist License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Complete 600 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Facial/Esthetics Instructor
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Must hold a current Oklahoma Facial Operator license
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Complete 1000 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam

poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Term of License
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00

Hairbraiding Technician License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Complete 600 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Instructor License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Most hold a current Oklahoma Cosmetology license
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Complete 1000 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee - (license expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Manicurist License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Complete 600 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     License Renewal Fee - $25.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Manicurist Instructor License Requirements
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Must hold a current Oklahoma Manicurist license
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)    Complete 1000 hours of study
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Pass a written and practical exam
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)     Is over the age of sixteen (16)

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Exam Fee - $15.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Application/Initial Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   License Renewal Fee - $30.00
poebul3a.gif (182 bytes)   Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Back to top.

Navigation Bar