Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact  |  Notifications  |  CLEET Calendar
spacer image
 
get adobe reader
email icon Email   |   print icon Print  
  
Private Investigators

New License Applicants

The Private Investigator license issued by CLEET is a three year, renewable license.  Applicants wanting to apply for a Private Investigator license must first complete the necessary training, submit an application for a license, and undergo a finger print background check. Below are the items you will need to complete a new application. 

  * Application with attachments completed and signature notarized.  
  * Certified court Judgment and Sentence or letter of no record for each arrest and/or charge, if applicable. (All questions on page 2 must be answered)  
  * Legible CLEET fingerprint cards with all required data  
  * Two current passport size color photographs or three if applying for an armed license. Paper or plastic photos are NOT acceptable.  
  * Local Police Department and Sheriff Department Record Checks  
  * Letter of Employment (if applicable) or Bond/Insurance  
  * Agency Application (Required if self-employed Private Investigator)  
  * Documented proof of experience or comparable training.    
  * Payment amount required. DO NOT MAIL CASH. NO PERSONAL CHECKS. (Money Order, Company Check or Cashier's Check only).  
  * If not a United States Citizen, verifiable documentation of legal residence  

 

In general, the cost for a Private Investigator license is:

Unarmed Private Investigator   $91
Armed Private Investigator   $141

 

Information and forms necessary for completing an application for Private Investigator, Armed and Unarmed, License.

Required Training

Testing Dates 


License Renewals

The Private Investigator license issued by CLEET is a two year, renewable license.  The license expires two years from the date it was issued.  To renew a license, the holder must provide proof of continuing education, proof of bond and/or insurance, where applicable, and submit a renewal application, if applicable.

Licenses that are expired for two or more years are not eligible for renewal and must reapply for a new license.

In general, renewal costs are:  

License
Type 
Renewal
Fee
Late Fee
(One day to six months)
Unarmed Private Investigator $50 $25
Armed Private Investigator $100 $25
Armed Guard and Armed Private Investigator (Combination) $150 $25

 
Forms necessary for completing a renewal for Private Investigator, Armed and Unarmed, License.

390:35-5-13. Notification of change of name or address or telephone number


(a) Private investigators, armed security guards, and unarmed security guards shall maintain, with the Council, current residential addresses and shall notify in writing the Council of any change of name. Notification of change of name shall include copies of any marriage license or court document which reflects the change of name. Notice of change of address or telephone number must be made within ten (10) days of the effected change. Notices will not be accepted over the phone.


 

 

 

Last updated/reviewed November 4, 2010

Information


Security Guards

<-- Private Investigators

Private Security Agencies - Coming

Drug Dogs and Bomb Dogs

Self-Defense Act (SDA) Instructors

Polygraph Examiners

 

Private Security Advisory Committee

Guidelines for Continuing Education Credit

Oklahoma Private Investigators Association

Rules governing Private Investigators and Investigative Agencies

 

Agency Information


Agency Application 

Agency Employment and Termination Form 


Testing Dates 

Career Tech Locations (Map)

Approved Guard & Investigator Continuing Education Classes

Approved Guard & Investigator Training Programs

Continuing Education Requirements for Guards and Investigators

Course Accreditation Packet